2012 Newbery, Caldecott Award Winners Announced

**The posts I write might contain affiliate links or be written in collaboration with businesses or brands. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.**


On Monday January 23rd, I woke-up early with butterflies in my stomach. Not unlike the Oscar’s, last Monday was the kid lit’s equivalent with the presentation of the ALA awards. The ALA Live-stream didn’t work and I became completely dependent on twitter to discover who won the most coveted awards in children’s literature.

It was so fun to tweet with author’s, publishers, illustrators, librarians, and book lovers alike as we responded and congratulated the winners, and gave encouraging words to those that didn’t win. Next year, JIAB will have an ALA award party so all of you can take part in this incredible event.

Following are some of this year’s Best of the Best award winners.

The John Newbery Medal for Most Oustanding Contribution to Children’s Literature:
Dead End in Norvelt
(author: Jack Gantos, publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux)

Two Newbery Honor Books were also named:

Inside Out and Back Again
(author: Thanhha Lai, publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Breaking Stalin’s Nose
(author and illustrator: Eugene Yelchin, publisher: Henry Holt and Company)

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for Children:

A Ball For Daisy
(author and illustrator: Chris Raschka, publisher: Schwartz and Wade Books)

Three Caldecott Honor Books were also named:

(author and illustrator: John Rocco, publisher: Hyperion Books)

Grandpa Green
(author and illustrator: Lane Smith, publisher: Roaring Brook Press)

Me . . . Jane
(author and illustrator: Patrick McDonnell, publisher: Little, Brown and Company)

The most distinguished informational book for children (Robert F. Sibert Medal):

Balloons over Broadway:
The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy’s Parade
(author and illustrator: Melissa Sweet, publisher: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children)

The most distinguished beginning reader book (Theodor Seuss Geisel Award):

Tales for Very Picky Eaters
(author and illustrator: Josh Schneider, publisher: Clarion Books)

Three Geisel Honor Books also were named:

I Broke My Trunk!
(author and illustrator: Mo WIllems, publisher: Hyperion Books for Children)

I Broke My Trunk!
(author and illustrator: Jon Klassen, publisher: Candlewick Press)

See Me Run
(author and illustrator: Paul Meisel, publisher: Holiday House)

 (Michael L. Printz Award) The excellence in literature written for young adults:

Where Things Come Back (author: John Corey Whaley, publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers)

Four Printz Honor Books also were named:

Why We Broke Up
(author: Daniel Handler, publisher: Hachette Book Group)

The Returning
(author: Christine Hinwood, publisher: Hachette Book Group)

Jasper Jones
(author: Craig Silvey, publisher: Random House Children’s Books)

The Scorpio Races
(author: Maggie Stiefvater, publisher: Scholastic)

The best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults (Odyssey Award):

(written by Daniel Kraus and narrated by Kirby Heyborne,
produced by Listening Library)

The African American author of outstanding books for children and young adults (Coretta Scott King [Author] Book Award):

Kadir Nelson author and illustrator of

Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans
(published by Balzer + Bray)

The African American Ilustrator of Outstanding Books for Children and Young Adults(Coretta Scott King Book Award)

Shane W. Evans illustrator and author of

Underground: Finding the Light to Freedom
(a Neal Porter Book, published by Roaring Brook Press)

Middle School award was given to two books

Close to Famous
(author: Joan Bauer, publisher: Viking)

(author: Brian Selznick, publisher: Scholastic)

The Teen Award
The Running Dream
(author: Wendelin Van Draanen, publisher: Alfred A. Knopf)

The Best nonfiction book published for young adults (YALSA Award):

The Notorious Benedict Arnold:
A True Story of Adventure, Heroism and Treachery
(author: Steve Sheinkin, publisher: Flash Point/Roaring Brook Press)

Four Books were  finalists for the Yalsa Award:

Sugar Changed the World: A Story of Magic, Spice, Slavery, Freedom and Science
(authors: Marc Aronson,Marina Tamar Budhos, publisher: Clarion Books)

Bootleg: Murder, Moonshine, and the Lawless Years of Prohibition
(author: Karen Blumenthal, publisher: Flash Point/Roaring Brook Press)

Wheels of Change: How Women Rode the Bicycle to Freedom (With a Few Flat Tires Along the Way)
(author: Sue Macy, publisher: National Geographic Children’s Books)

Music Was It: Young Leonard Bernstein
(author: Susan Goldman Rubin, publisher: Charlesbridge)

I have to say that I was a little surprised about who didn’t win. I was shocked really that Monster Calls, Okay for Now, and Breadcrumbs didn’t win an award. Even though , they are some of my favorite books of 2011. I’d like to wish all of the award winers Congratulations!!! Along with much thanks for filling our world with wonderful stories and insights. You can find a complete listing at the ALA.  Happy Reading Everyone.

2 thoughts on “2012 Newbery, Caldecott Award Winners Announced

Comments are closed.