News

Please Read if You Enjoy Jump Into A Book via Gmail

**The posts I write might contain affiliate links or be written in collaboration with businesses or brands. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.**

I know this is a little off-topic, but there have been some new changes to the way Gmail filters your email. Here a JIAB, we just want to make sure you understand the options.

Google is slowly rolling out a new automatic filtering feature for incoming emails. In the future your emails will be categorized into three major tabs Primary (your most read and most important emails) Social (social updates) and Promotions (sales, ads, and offers).

The downside to this is that many sites (like Audrey Press/Jump Into A Book) are finding that the information that you subscribed to and asked to receive is getting lumped into the Promotions tab instead of going to your Primary tab for immediate viewing.

There are two quick solutions that we would like to share with our readers.

Option #1: If you already have the new filtering in your Gmail (and it’s driving you nuts), find the “X” to the right of the row of tabs, click it, and uncheck all boxes except Primary. This will remove the filtering feature.

Gmail

Option #2: If an email from Jump Into A Book (or any emails you would like to see in your Primary or main email feed) is found under Promotions, simply left-click, drag, and drop the email into your “Primary” inbox tab. A prompt will come up asking you if you would like future emails to filter this way-click “yes.”

gmail2

This “trains” Gmail’s filtering system to filter emails in a fashion that works best for your needs.

If this all has you a bit puzzled, I’d like to defer to a video that social media guru’s Social Media Examiner created about these changes. Nobody can explain anything social media-related like the ever-brilliant Michael Stelzner 🙂

The bottom line is, we value your readership and would like you to continue to enjoy receiving the emails and updates from Jump Into A Book that you asked for by subscribing. We hope this helps keep JIAB in your Primary inbox so you don’t miss any of the fun, updates, reading activities, and booklists in the future!

thankyou

NOTE! Shawn Achor’s wonderful book Ripple’s Effect is FREE on Nook until 8/3. We did a review of this delightful ebook HERE and we highly recommend Shawn and sister Amy’s tale of how a good mood and a positive outlook can have a “ripple effect” on those around you.

Ripple's Effect